Florida Statute of Limitations: Two Important Auto Accident Deadlines:
14 days after a car accident
You have 14 days to seek medical treatment if you have been involved in a car accident in order to obtain $10,000 in personal injury protection benefits. This is no fault insurance that all Florida drivers are required to have. Although you still can obtain medical treatment after this time period, your personal injury protection for that accident will be lost. It is always recommended to get checked out after an accident. The law was put into effect to reduce the number of lawsuits each year. The problem is $10,000 can be quickly used up for medical treatment. This is why contacting an attorney is so important.
4 years after a car accident
In the state of Florida you have four years after the accident to file suit against the person who was responsible for your accident. This is called a statute of limitations. After four years have passed there is not much you can do. This is why it is so important to contact a attorney immediately after a car accident.